Eevee and its many Evolutionary Lines: A Full Pokemon GO Guide

Eevee Pokemon GO Evolutionary Guide

Pikachu may be the face and a fan-favourite mascot of the world’s biggest franchise, but Eevee itself has many fans and the cute little thing has many things going for it. It doesn’t have just one evolution for starters. With each new Gen of mainline Pokemon videogame titles, the evolutionary lines for Eevee have considerably grown in numbers and right now just to name all of the Pokemon that you can evolve your Eevee into, you can get Jolteon, Vaporeon, Flareon, Espeon, Umbreon, Glaceon, Leafeon, Sylveon.

Pokemon GO has Eevee and all of its Evolutions included in the game and we will give you all the info you’ll ever need on Eevee and how to get your favourite evolutionary forms of it.

Eevee is a Normal type Gen 1 Pokemon that itself stands with many options of Moves and is quite usable in Pokemon GO as it is. Players who like it in its base form can still happily get many benefits out of it in Battles and Raids. It is however a little low on stats otherwise, so if players need to evolve it, then all of its Evolutionary Forms are also acquirable in the game.

Players can evolve Eevee in 2 main ways, an easy way and a hard way.

Easy Eevee Nickname Evolution:

The easiest way to evolve Eevee in Pokemon GO is to rename it. Players can simply choose the proper nickname to get the proper evolution for it. Here is the list of the nicknames and what evolution they will get you:

  1. Sparky – Jolteon.
  2. Rainer – Vaporeon.
  3. Pyro – Flareon.
  4. Sakura – Espeon.
  5. Tamao – Umbreon.
  6. Rea – Glaceon.
  7. Linnea – Leafeon.
  8. Kira – Sylveon.

Open up Pokemon GO and press the Pokeball Button at the bottom centre of the screen. Click on Pokemon and scroll down to where Eevee is visible or just write Eevee at the top Search bar. Click on the Eevee you want to evolve. Check for a pen icon right next to its name, click on it to rename it, and write the name that you want based on which evolutionary form it gives. Select it, and all you need to do next is check if you have enough Eevee candy to evolve it. It needs 25 candies to evolve. Go ahead and confirm after setting the nickname up and you’ll get your favourite Eeveelution!

Just know that you can use the nickname method only once in the game. After you’ve used this method to get an evolution, then it won’t work again for your account and you’ll have to use the harder way to get more evolutions of the same kind.

It’s recommended that you evolve an Eevee that has high or max IV points as that will get you the most powerful Eeveelution. Pokemon GO Pokemon are based on their IV points as that gives players the edge in Player Battles as well as in Raids and more. If you have a 100 IV Eevee, you’re a really lucky person because a perfect IV Pokemon is called a ‘Hundo’ and the strongest of its kind. A shiny Pokemon that also has full IVs is called a ‘Shundo’ and it is the rarest and most sought-after Pokemon in Pokemon GO, so treasure it above anything else!

Eevee Eevelutions

The Hard Way to Evolve Eevee:

Aside from the easy way which is completely explained above, there is also another manner to get all the different evolutions, and for each evolution it is different. We’ve explained how to get each evolution the hard way below.

Jolteon, Flareon and Vaporeon:

These three kinds of evolutions are the first evolutions that were introduced in Pokemon back in Gen 1. To get any of these three, there is a bit of chance-play. You just have to have 25 candies and an Eevee and evolve it normally. You will get either of these three evolutions at random. You can’t choose a single one from these three with this method so use your nickname method carefully!

Espeon and Umbreon:

To get either one of these, you have to walk with your Eevee for at least 10 km as your buddy Pokemon. Once you have walked, you can get Espeon by evolving it during the daytime, which is between 6 AM to 6 PM local time. To get Umbreon, evolve it during the night, between 6 PM to 6 AM. This is relatively convenient as you don’t have a random evolution like for Jolteon, Flareon and Vaporeon.

Glaceon and Leafeon:

To get either of these, you will need special Lures in Pokemon GO. Two of the Lures needed for these two Eeveelutions are the Mossy and the Glacial Lure. As the name states, The Mossy Lure with get you Leafeon and the Glacial Lure will allow you to get Glaceon. You can buy these from the ingame Shop or get them through a few research tasks ingame.

Just use the Lure nearby and stand close to it as you need to be in the range of the special Lure. Then just go ahead and evolve your Eevee.


To get Sylveon through the long method. You have to earn 70 Heart Points on your Eevee as your Buddy Pokemon. Heart Points are the points you get by feeding your Buddy Pokemon Berries, walking with it fed up, petting it, and more. Get it to 70 Heart Points meaning it should be more than a Great Buddy, an Ultra or a Best Buddy preferably. Then next, you have to get it to learn a Fairy Type Move. You can do that by using a Fast TM or a Charged TM.

After you have done both steps, evolve it and you will get Sylveon.

This is all the info you need on evolving Eevee in Pokemon GO.

For more on Pokemon GO, check out the game’s official website. The Festival of Lights event is also coming in just a few days so check that out if you’re looking for all the info.


  • Mohsin Ali

    An individual whose gaming and social preferences are fueled by nostalgia. Giving most of his time to Game Boy Advance titles where it all started for him, his proficiency lies in anything coming from innovation and departure from the norms that directly surmount to just plain old fun. Anything related to Nintendo or Pokémon is enough motivation for him to put his English graduate skills to good use.

    View all posts

Leave a Reply